Demo Story/"Prologue"

Kabbu: Ahh, the land of Bugaria.

It is a peaceful, prosperous place where many adventurous bugs gather.

Although it wasn't always that way...

Lured by the promise of riches and lush fields, a young queen visited these lands many moons ago.

Together with her daughters and fellow ant servants, she established Bugaria's modest first settlement.

Her people were happy, and the kingdom flourished. And yet, the queen's dream had still not been fulfilled.

For she had heard of an ancient people, who safeguarded a treasure of unbelievable power. It was none other than…

The Everlasting Sapling! A plant which would grant unending youth and strength to any who ate even one of its leaves!

She searched, and searched...and searched…

And yet, she never found it.

She entrusted her dream to the princess, before falling into a hard earned sleep.

Determined to succeed where her mother did not, the new Queen rallied the people together under her cause.

Opening the doors of the kingdom to bugs of all shapes and kinds, she attracted ambitious and skilled adventurers!

Her decree was loud and clear: "Find me the Eternal Sapling, and you shall know wealth no bug ever has!"

With this, The Explorers' Association was founded, with its many members searching across the kingdom for clues and treasure.

Although to this day the sapling has not been found, every bug dreams of one day claiming it for themselves…


Explorer’s Association

Kabbu: ...Or at least, those were the stories I was told in my land.

Kabbu: Despite many unfortunate incidents, tales of your people helped me keep my adventuring spirit alive.

Maki: Rest assured, Beetle. They are not mere legends, but real history.

Maki: This Explorers' Association, and all the explorers who risk their wings for glory, are proof of that.

Kabbu: Then, Sir Maki, would you consider my earlier offer?

Maki: ...Beetle...sorry, but I cannot. I respect your passion, but my team is already full.

Maki: Even if it were not, we take missions of the highest danger. An unproven warrior is not fit to accompany us.

Kabbu: Unproven!? Maki, I am a veteran of the north!

Maki: A north unknown to us, for which we can't credit you.

Maki: Your knowledge of our culture, and your passion for exploring are as true as my blade's edge, Beetle.

Maki: But, I would ask you to not press the issue - this is not the place to cause a scene.

Kabbu: Ngh…

Vi: WHAT? Care to say that AGAIN!?

Eetl: As I said, we cannot allow children to explore! Much less Snakemouth Den!

Vi: I AM NOT A KID!

Maki: ...So much for not causing a scene.

Maki: Would you accompany me, Beetle? It is my duty to investigate.

Kabbu: Hm. If you insist..

Textbox: Use |button,0|, |button,1|, |button,2| and |button,3| to move around! Press |button,4| to jump or talk to people!


[Approach group]

Maki: Eetl...bee...lower your voices! What is the matter?

Vi: This guy's calling me a kid, says I can't explore!

Eetl: Shouting isn't going to change the rules, you child!

Vi: Shut it. I bet I'm older than you!

Vi: I'm Bee, the best explorer the hive has ever seen!

Vi: You should be gasping at my presence!

Kabbu: An explorer...bee?

Vi: Yeah. Got a problem? Saying bees can't explore? Expected honey and paint?

Kabbu: I didn't say that, but…

Maki: Silence, please. This guild of ours is no place for petty squabbles.

Eetl: Look. I can't just give a permit to a random bee. Much less without a partner. Teams should have at least two explorers, you know?

Vi: I'm worth like four bees, okay?!

Kabbu: ...Hey. Bee.

Vi: What do you want?

Kabbu: Why don't we join forces?

(minibubble) Maki: ...

Kabbu: We both wish a permit, yet lack a companion…

Vi: What, do I look that desperate? I don't even know you!

Kabbu: I have a promise I must keep, and for that I must explore. How bad could it be?

Vi: ...Well, can't be worse than having to stay put.

Eetl: Wait, you two are just crazy! You won't last a second at Snakemouth!

Vi: Say that to my face!

Maki: No.

Maki: You are both, most likely, mere novices, ruled by your strong emotions…

Maki: I have no doubt if you left today, you would not return but in a bag.

Kabbu: ...Sir Maki. Although you outrank me in spades, you shouldn't understimate me.

Vi: Yeah. Bugs like you that look down on others are really annoying.

Maki: Hmm. Very well. I shall test your resolve.

Vi: Test us, huh? Who named you king of this joint?

Maki: The Ant Queen herself, for she has knighted me as her Royal Blade!

(minibubble) Eetl: Oh dear...

Kabbu: Sir Maki...I accept your challenge. Bee, get ready!

Vi: Watch your own horn, I was born ready!


[Battle]

Kabbu: Bee, our opponent is no amateur. Would you like to review some combat tips?

Textbox: Sure.

No need.


[Sure]

Vi: Hit me up. Maybe I'll even learn something.

Kabbu: Very well. So... We can both perform one action per round, be it attacking, using an item...etc.

Kabbu: We can power up our attacks by performing commands unique to each move. Watch this.

Kabbu: If I hold |button,1| long enough...I can power up my horn strike!

Vi: Holding a button? Lame. Look at this!

Vi: If I press |button,4| at the right time, I can power up my Beemerang!

(minibubble) Kabbu: A...beemerang?


[No need.]

Vi: I bet I know more stuff than you do! I'll be fine.

Kabbu: Alright, I shall trust you then.

Vi: See? We're doing great!

Kabbu: Don't let your guard down, Bee. After our turn ends, it is the enemy's turn!

Vi: I know! And if I press |button,4| at the right time…

Textbox: Pressing |button,4| before an enemy hits you reduces damage received!

Vi: O-ow! What the heck!? You trying to kill us or something?

Maki: Hmph. If you can't handle that much, you should surrender.

Maki: At home, you can guard honey with your silly toy!

Vi: Toy!? Argh. Now I'm mad!

Kabbu: We should pay him back, tenfold!

Vi: It's time to use a skill! They're just like attacks, but you select them from the yellow flower!

Vi: Skills require us to use our TP (Teamwork Points), however. So watch out how much we have left!

Kabbu: We should patch your wounds too, using items from the blue flower.

Textbox: Toggle between commands using |button,2| and |button,3|!


[Post-battle]

Kabbu: S-such skill with the blade...!

Maki: ......You pass.

Vi: What?!

Maki: You performed well enough...I could feel your desire to see the world through your attacks.

Maki: I am no one to keep you from your Explorer Permit.

Maki: Eetl, you may grant these two the permit. I shall take responsability for it.

Eetl: I get no say in this, huh?

Eetl: ...but Maki IS the Queen's blade. Here you go, you two.

Textbox: You got a Explorer Permit!

Vi: I did it! Snakemouth Den is going to be all mine! All the riches, all the glory!

(minibubble) Kabbu: Er, we did it.

Maki: Snakemouth Den...it lays to the west of the association. A simple path, although filled with danger.

Maki: Few who venture ever return...but there is much treasure to be found.

Kabbu: Treasure, huh…

Kina: MAKI!!!

Kina: Seriously, brother! How long are you going to keep me waiting!?

Maki: ...I'm sorry, Kina.

Maki: Bee, Beetle...I must be going now. As you can see, duty calls me.

Maki: May you succeed in your mission.

Vi: What a weird bunch.

Kabbu: He ended up causing quite the scene himself.

Kabbu: But that fighting prowess...How many years must he have trained?

Vi: ...So uh. I'm Bee, I guess. From the Hive near the big tree.

Kabbu: And I am Beetle. I moved in just one moon ago, from the north.

Vi: Cool.

Kabbu: Indeed.

Kabbu: Um, Sir Maki said Snakemouth was to the west, right? Should we get moving?

Vi: Right! Yeah! Let's go right away! Don't fall behind, okay?

Kabbu: You need not worry about me. Let us depart.

(minibubble) Eetl: ……

Eetl: Hey, wait you two!

Vi: Something wrong?

Eetl: You know what the goal of the Snakemouth expedition is, right?

Textbox: Of course!

Nope.

[Of course!]

Eetl: ...Alright. I hope you can find the ancient artifact the Queen is after.

Eetl: Good luck out there.

Kabbu: Thank you. We will be back soon. I promise.


[Nope]

Eetl: What? How can you go there without knowing anything! It is like asking to perish…

Vi: Shush, Eetl. Just say it.

Eetl: Your goal is to find an ancient artifact that is fabled to be inside Snakemouth Den.

Eetl: Many tried, but no one ever found it. Most never came back.

Eetl: I do not know what the Queen wants with that, but she is very determined to find it.

Kabbu: We will find it. Don't worry.

Vi: Yeah! After all, I am on the case!

Eetl: ...this is what worries me.

Textbox: Change the party leader by pressing |button,6|!

Textbox: You can check your inventory, stats and other things by pressing |button,8|!


Ant Guard: The path ahead leads to Snakemouth Den. Currently only licensed exploration teams can pass.

Ant Guard: Do you have a permit?

[Exit out]

Ant Guard: Sorry. No permit, no passage. Those are the rules.


[Give permit]

Ant Guard: ...Alright, this checks out! I'll open up the gate. Safe travels, explorers.


Snakemouth Way, Outside Chuck’s

[Walk toward Chuck]

Kabbu: Excuse me, bug of old complexion. Is everything alright?

Vi: Hey! Beetle! We're supposed to be adventuring! Snakemouth Den? Endless riches?

Kabbu: Sorry, Bee. I cannot ignore an old bug in distress.

Chuck: First of all, name's Chuck. And I bet I'm younger than both of ya!

Chuck: But if you need to know...

Chuck: I'm almost done arranging my cozy rest space for travelers going to Snakemouth Den.

Chuck: But I can't pull out this blasted weed!

Vi: You call this cozy?

Kabbu: Chuck, Snakemouth Den is more dangerous than rain on a wedding day. Shouldn't you be warning travelers?

Chuck: ...Look, will you help me or not?

Vi: I'm not doing any pulling. At least not for free.

Kabbu: Hm. Watch this, Bee. If I press |button,5| near small bushes or rocks...

Vi: Woah! Nice.

Kabbu: Something like this is no match for my horn!

Chuck: I'll be! You actually helped me! This made my week!

Vi: You've got a reward ready, right?

Kabbu: But Bee! Helping others is already its own reward.

(minibubble) Kabbu: And you didn't do anything.

Vi: It's really, really not.

Chuck: Hohohoh. No need to be like that. People who help deserve gratitude!

Chuck: This is all I've got on me, but please take it.

Vi: Ah, honey. Wonderful honey!

Chuck: Eat it if you're having a rough time. Alright?

Kabbu: Hm, thank you. We'll be going, now. Just make sure to warn others!


Snakemouth Way, Outside Snakemouth

[First entrance]

Kabbu: This is it...Snakemouth Den.

Vi: It doesn't look that scary, you know?

Kabbu: According to rumors I have heard...It is the grave of a thousand explorers.

Kabbu: Having ended countless journeys, many a song have been written about its dangers.

Vi: F-For real?

Kabbu: Its interior must be absolutely riddled with monsters and death traps.

Kabbu: Only the bravest of teams even dare to step inside.

Vi: Geez, way to sell it to me, Beetle.

Vi: But the higher the danger, the better the treasure!

Kabbu: Hm. It's true that the artifact is likely to be inside.

Kabbu: But will you really risk your life for simple riches?

Vi: Like you're any better. Let's just get this over with.

Kabbu: (...It's not like she would understand.)


Snakemouth Den, Bridge Room

[First entrance]

Kabbu: There is much more light here... This room must be quite near the cracked ceiling.

Kabbu: The entrance of Snakemouth Den is surprisingly cozy.

Vi: Uh huh…

Vi: Hey, Beetle?

Vi: Do you really have to comment on every small thing?

Kabbu: !!!

Kabbu: I... I'm sorry.

Vi: H-Hey, don't look so sad.

Vi: Err... How about this. If I want to know more about where we currently are...or about something or someone near us…

Vi: I'll just tap the |button,9| button, how about that?

Kabbu: ...Very well. I will make sure to have information at hand for when you do.

Vi: (...Yeah, right.)


[Walking up to bridge]

Kabbu: This bridge seems to be out. How are we going to cross?

Vi: Well, that's it. Game over. Let's go back.

Kabbu: Wait, Bee. Hold on! It's too soon to give up! There must be a way…

Vi: Duh. I was kidding, you know? Look over there!

Vi: It's one of those ancient switches! We just need to hit it!

Kabbu: You can just fly over to it, right?

Vi: That's too much effort. I've got a better plan.

Vi: My mighty Beemerang! I just need to get in front with |button,6| and press |button,5| to throw it!

(minibubble) Kabbu: That thing again?

Kabbu: I will trust you with this, then. Give it your best shot!


[Break rope]

Kabbu: Well done, Bee. I wasn't expecting you to do that!

Vi: Uh... yeah! Of course! Just as planned.

Kabbu: Let's continue. I am glad to have a reliable partner.

Vi: Hehehe. Yep. Let's go.


Snakemouth Den, Door Room

[Complete puzzle]

Kabbu: A mushroom?

Vi: What!? We did all this for THAT!?

Vi: Seriously? It wasn't even a rare item. Heck it wasn't even a rare mushroom!

Vi: Who designed this place!? I will sting them in the face!

Vi: Oh I'm angry now, I'll never forget this! I'll tear the place DOWN!

Kabbu: I can understand that you're upset, Bee.

Kabbu: But unfortunate as it may be, let's pick it up and start looking again.


[Pick up mushroom]

Kabbu: Huh? What?

Kabbu: IYAAAAAAAAAAAA-

Vi: Phew. That was close.

(minibubble) Kabbu: Hrgrgh....

Vi: Beetle! Are you alive!?

(minibubble) Kabbu: Mrggfgh....

Vi: I guess he is. Hmm…

Vi: This is the perfect time to go home, I don't like the look of that place…

Vi: But I'm his reliable teammate…

Vi: …

Vi: I'm going to regret this…


Snakemouth Den, Fall Room

[First entrance]

Kabbu: Nghgh…

Vi: No rush. I can wait.

Kabbu: Oof... I am lucky this mushroom broke my fall…

Vi: I would have carried you, but you seem really heavy…

Kabbu: I assure you I am lighter than I seem.

Vi: Uh huh…

Vi: Anyways, this place is really creepy.

Kabbu: I must agree. There doesn't seem to be a way for me to get back up, though.

Kabbu: We will have to look around.

Vi: Let's be careful, okay? You were almost a goner!


[Walk up to web]

Vi: Yikes... is that a moth?

Kabbu: By the queen... what a terrible fate.

Kabbu: Let us have a moment of silence, in solidarity for a fallen explorer.

Leif: …

Leif: Zzz...

Vi: WAIT! HE'S ALIVE!

Kabbu: Quick! We must free him!

Vi: Okay, I'm just going to see if the Beemerang can cut through web…

Kabbu: I will make sure there are no other surviv-

Kabbu: Bee! Watch out!

Vi: A... a... a spider...

Kabbu: ...How could a beast so huge sneak up on us!?

Vi: Beetle! We've got to run! Treasure ain't worth this!

Kabbu: It's not that! We can't abandon this poor moth to his fate!

Vi: I...I…

Kabbu: Bee! Bee, wait! Curses!

Kabbu: This has to be some cruel irony…

Kabbu: ...Ngh. I can't give up, even if I'm alone!


[“Battle”]

Kabbu: ...it is stronger than it looks.…

Kabbu: Crud! It's too high up! If only Bee was here…

Kabbu: Must I really sit here and do nothing!?


[leaving battle]

Kabbu: I...It's too much by myself, after all…

Kabbu: Everyone....I failed. I really was just a rookie in the end…

Kabbu: Bee!?

Vi: ...Look, I-

Kabbu: By the holy jaws of the queen, Bee! You left me to my fate! You are vile!

Vi: H-Hey! I was going to apologize! And I came back, right?

Vi: You pushed me away from the web, but I still left, so I'm…

Kabbu: I will properly scold you later. The situation is dire, but I've got a plan.

Kabbu: We will attack the Web holding the moth while battling the spider.

Vi: And once we free it...we run?

Kabbu: Precisely. Except we'll run together, this time. Without leaving anyone behind.

Vi: Geez Beetle, I apologized already!

Vi: H-Here it comes. Let's do this!


[Two turns into the battle]

Kabbu: Remember the plan! We must attack the web holding the moth captive!


[post-battle]

Vi: Alright! We did it!

Kabbu: Begone, wretched beast!

Vi: Beetle! I'm done here!

Kabbu: Well done, Bee!

Vi: Let's get outta here!!!

Kabbu: Leave us alone already, monster!

(minibubble) Kabbu: Huff... huff…

Vi: Gee, glad it is too fat to come in here…

Vi: ......Uh, Beetle?

Vi: I am sorry for running away…

Kabbu: …

Kabbu: Sigh...

Kabbu: Very well. You are forgiven, Bee.

Vi: Took you long enough! Most people would be crying at getting rescued!

Kabbu: ...Right.

(minibubble) Leif: Cough cough.

Kabbu: Let's turn over a new leaf, Bee. This moth is our priority.

(minibubble) Vi: ...!

Kabbu: You're alive!

Leif: …

Leif: Mjaj? Ajeukx... yrdiuf... ghsiaoenbx?

Vi: What the... hey! Are you okay? Did you hit your head?

Leif: Jsgsn. Sjaika? Hsjaosidjs...?

Kabbu: Could this moth be speaking in an ancient tongue? Perhaps he is of the fabled tribes lurking underground.

Leif: ...N-no. We can speak Bugnish.

Vi: Do you need like, a minute?

Leif: ............No.

Leif: We are fine now.

Kabbu: Thank goodness, you had us quite worried.

Leif: Where are we? The spider... where is it?

Kabbu: Alright. Let me get you up to speed.

Leif: Interesting. It seems we owe our life to you, Bee.

(minibubble) Kabbu: Seriously?

Vi: No big deal. It sucks that we're trapped, though.

Kabbu: Were you looking for treasure as well, alongside fellow explorers? Err... what's your name?

Leif: Moth is fine. And we were. Like all others that came before and after us.

Vi: Geez, you've got some luck to be alive…

Vi: Way too many things happened all at once... but the treasure must still be ahead, right?

Leif: Probably.

Kabbu: If we work together, we will surely find both it and the exit.

Leif: We have little choice. We will accompany you.

Kabbu: Can you fight?

Leif: ...Not really.

Vi: Seriously!? You came into this place without knowing how to fight!?

Kabbu: Make sure to stay behind us, so we can protect you.

Leif: How reassuring.

Vi: Ok. We've spent too much time here. Let's look for the exit!

[If you’ve never saved before this point]

Leif: Wait.

Kabbu: Is something the matter?

Leif: This crystal... it's an ancient artifact. Although it's too heavy to carry.

Leif: It was used to recordwhere people have walked through.

Leif: Since this one is yellow, it will heal our HP and TP too. Try smacking it sometime.

Kabbu: Alright. Now let us depart for real!


Snakemouth Den, Lake

[Walk by exit]

Kabbu: Nice work, everyon-

Kabbu: Moth! Watch out!

Vi: What the heck!?

Kabbu: By the great antcestors...what kind of sorcery is that!?

Leif: We, uh, are unsure? This is new.

Vi: You seriously expect us to believe that!?

Leif: We mean it, it's the truth.

Kabbu: Magic...that is no common feat. There are less than ten known sorcerers in history.

Vi: You're not some criminal with a HUGE bounty, are you?

Leif: And what if we were? You'd turn us in?

Kabbu: We will talk later. I take it you can fight now?

Leif: We'll try.


[battle]

Kabbu: Wait, everyone.

Kabbu: Now that we're a trio, let me share an useful technique.

Kabbu: With turn relay, picked from the colorful flower…

Kabbu: One of us can lend our turn to another.

Leif: How...is that useful? It sounds tiring.

Kabbu: Well, for example, we could let Bee attack twice to knock down flying enemies.

Vi: Heh. You should let me attack three times! I'll take them all on!

Kabbu: You shouldn't abuse it like that, though.

Kabbu: The exhaustion will reduce your attack power by 1 every time you act in a round.

Vi: Grr. Fine.

Leif: Well, it sounds mildly useful...We'll try it out.

Kabbu: Now, on your guard!


[post-battle]

Kabbu: Geez, that magic isn't a joke.

Leif: It's pretty cool.

Kabbu: If you truly couldn't do it before…

Kabbu: This den really is more than meets the eye.

Vi: Everything's just too suspicious. I don't even believe Moth yet.

Leif: We're telling the truth. If we had ice magic...that accursed spider wouldn't have caught us.

Kabbu: I say, let's focus on getting out alive. We can collect our thoughts when we're safe.

Leif: Very well. If you need us to freeze anything...just press |button5| while we are leading.

Vi: ...I guess it's fine for now. Let's keep going, then! I can almost smell the treasure!


Snaekmouth Den, Underground Door

[First entrance]

Vi: EEP!

Vi: It's not funny! I'm all soaked now!

Kabbu: S-Sorry, Bee. I couldn't help it.

Kabbu: It seems the ceiling's dripping…

Vi: Ugh, why is there so much water in here!?

Vi: There's water under us, above us...it doesn't make sense!

Leif: Hm. This is good, though.

Kabbu: What do you mean?

Leif: If it's water…

Leif: Then it can be frozen.

Kabbu: Impressive! If you can do that...it opens a lot of options for us!

Kabbu: I bet I can push them with my horn, as well.

Vi: That's pretty cool, Moth!

Leif: Mhm. Enemies...the water around us…

Leif: Even though they seem like obstacles, we can exploit them for our own benefit.

Kabbu: Let's give your ice magic a try on all we can find.


Snakemouth Den, Underground Right/Left B

[hitting the big crystal switch, first time]

Kabbu: Is everyone alright?

Leif: Did we cause the tremor?

Vi: I guess. It was a pretty big switch.

Kabbu: We must have made progress in unlocking the door. Let's keep going!


[hitting the big crystal switch, second time]

Vi: Alright! That's two switches!

Leif: Pretty sure the door should be open now.

Kabbu: Good! Let's make our way back to the door!


Snakemouth Den, Treasure Room

[Walk towards pedestal]

Kabbu: This is...the artifact? Some sort of mask?

Vi: It doesn't really seem special. Or valuable.

Leif: Sueska? Mijrelf ytrik...

Vi: M-Moth?!

Kabbu: Are you alright!?

Leif: …

Leif: Y-Yes...this mask has very potent magic. We reacted strongly to it…

Kabbu: That settles it, then. This is probably the real artifact.

Vi: Dibs. Moth shouldn't touch it anyways.

Kabbu: The queen has claimed it already, Bee.

(minibubble) Leif: The Queen...

Vi: Yeah, yeah. Whatever.

Textbox: You have found the Ancient Mask!

Vi: Eep!

Kabbu: What!?

Leif: ...?

Kabbu: Curses! It's a trap!

Vi: We need to leave!

Leif: …

Spider: SCREEEE!!

Kabbu: YOU!

Vi: S-Seriously!? The spider!?

Kabbu: This is the worst possible timing...!

Leif: …

Leif: We will have you this time...

Leif: It won't let us escape. We must finish it now.

Vi: B-But last time we had to run!

Kabbu: ...We are stronger now, Bee. And Moth is with us. Some battles we cannot run from!

Vi: G-Gah! Alright! Let's take it out, before the room floods!


[Post-battle]

Kabbu: We...We did it! For real this time!

Kabbu: Heheheh...Hahahaha!

Kabbu: We really did it! I was scared for a minute…

Kabbu: But we worked together, and were victorious!

Kabbu: We did it…

Leif: ...Thank you. We don't know much of what's happened to us. But beating up that spider was great stress relief.

Vi: No problem! I was going to beat it up anyways!

Vi: And we got the treasure, too!

Kabbu: C-Curses! We forgot about the flood!

Leif: We should probably leave while we can.

Vi: ...Aw heck.

All: Aaaaaaaaaaah!

Textbox: You did well coming this far.

Textbox: What follows is an alternate story, deviating from the final game…


Ant Kingdom, Main Plaza

Vi: And that is how we got the treasure!

Tod: Wow! Cool!

Kabbu: ...That's not how it went, Bee.

Vi: Eh, close enough.

Leif: Not really…

Leif: But eh, what should we do next?

Vi: What SHOULDN'T we do next? There's lots of treasure to find!

Kabbu: Indeed. Let us depart!

Textbox: Thank you for playing the Bug Fables demo!

Textbox: It means a lot to us that you got this far.

Textbox: If you're still full of energy, try to complete the side quests and Library!